The Selection Series by: Kiera Cass

The Selection and subsequent novels are set in a dystopian universe. Set after the 4th World War and the demise and the United States as we know it today. However one of the focuses of the book is everyone has a specific class they are in (the books call them castes) that gives you almost an old world feel.

I read all three books (there is a fourth book but has a spinoff vibe) in the span of a week…..don’t tell my husband. I was able to get lost in the world of the selection and Following America and Maxon as they learn who they truly are and where they fit in the world. We watch them find their first loves, a little heart break all while fending off attacks on their homestead.

I’m trying to stay spoiler free, but all that I can say is I am a sucker for love stories and I found myself routing for different people at different times, and who doesn’t love love triangles and the possibility of becoming a princess??

Ultimately I would recommend this series to most teens/young adults. I may be in my late 20s but I will always be a young adult.

You can find the series in you local books store or for the Kindle or nook.

Leave a Reply

